Baku Ishii/Tatsumi Hijikata Memorial,
International Dance Festival

Application Guidelines
for the “Tatsumi Hijikata Memorial Award” International Competition

This year, we will forgo the International Competition and hold the festival by accepting only domestic entries.

As of the end of 2020, the spread of the COVID-19 pandemic is still in severe conditions worldwide.
As you may know, as of January 20, 2021, the declaration of a state of emergency is issued in eleven cities, including Tokyo. Although vaccination has already begun in the United States of America and European countries, it is yet to start in Japan, and it is still hard to tell when vaccination will become available in the country.
Besides, it is starting to become unclear whether the Tokyo Olympic Games, which are scheduled for July to August this year, would be held as planned.
After comprehensively studying these circumstances, we have decided to forgo the International Competition for the “Tatsumi Hijikata Memorial Prize” slated for October and hold the festival by accepting only entries in Japan for this year.
However, the “Tatsumi Hijikata Memorial Prize” is an international prize, and, therefore, the prize award will be postponed this year because the festival will be held with the participation of only domestic entries. Instead, the best dancers will receive the “ODORU-AKITA Prize.” Prize winners will be given the right to be finalists for the next year’s International Competition for the “Tatsumi Hijikata Memorial Prize.”

A tough situation for those involved in performing arts is going on, but we sincerely wish that new expression in a new age will be created by turning this challenge into an opportunity.